Evolution of Linkin Park

Growing up, I was a very lost and angry teenager, and Linkin Park’s songs had very emotional messages that really hit home for me. Bleed It Out was definitely my go to song. I don’t want this blog to be sad or depressing; I just want to be informative on how music can speak volumes to those that are struggling. I personally felt at ease when listening to Linkin Park in my teen years, the music was an escape as well as representation of myself at the time.  I admired the screaming, maybe because, I myself wanted to scream, but couldn’t in a sense.  The band is an alternative rock band that could be borderline metal. I found serenity in that. However, I recently listened to their newest album from 2017 and did find that familiarity that I once found so comforting.

Bleed It Out Linkin Park. Written by Joe Hahn, Dave Farrell, Rob Bourdon, Brad Delson, Chester Bennington & Mike Shinoda. August 17, 2007. USA.

I quickly realized that this was not the same band that I remembered and loved so much. It was as if I had found a completely different band using the title of the one I knew. There was no longer a rock or metal component at all. It was soft and warm, almost the exact opposite of how I remembered. Honestly it was unsettling at first, but grew on me in the end. I realized after listening that the messages that were there were still similar and relatable. Specifically the song One More Light as it sends such a strong message to its audience.  It’s enlightening to see a band evolve into a completely different genre.

One More Light by Linkin Park. Written by Joe Hahn, Dave Farrell, Brad Delson, Rob Bourdon, Chester Bennington, Francis Anthony “Eg” White & Mike Shinoda. May 19, 2017. USA.

Bleed It Out is delivering the message of a troubled soul that isn’t being heard and wants to end it all. Whereas, One More Light is illustrating what we have to go through when we lose a loved one by suicide. This song is trying to also speak to those that have passed. Chester Bennington wrote this song due to his friend’s passing. He is trying to tell him that he did matter and that we should cherish every moment that we have with each other.

In comparing these two songs that are 10 years apart we see a major change in the message being delivered. All of Linkin Park’s albums prior the One More Light were similar in the message and the style of music. It changed dramatically in the most recent album, which could tell us something about the song writer Chester Bennington, who unfortunately committed suicide shortly after this album was made.

An article from Rolling Stone wrote, “Bennington poured his experiences into Linkin Park’s songs, which mixed his soul-baring screams with Mike Shinoda’s rapping and the band’s lumbering riffs for a sound that dominated the pop charts for much of the 2000s.” “He had a distinct voice, at once delicate and ferocious,” is Jared Leto’s description of the singer’s voice.

If you sit down and listen to multiple songs and read the lyrics you can follow his struggle and see that he finally was tired of fighting.

Sources:

“Inside Linkin Park Singer Chester Bennington’s Last Days.” Rolling Stone, Rolling Stone, www.rollingstone.com/music/news/inside-linkin-park-singer-chester-benningtons-last-days-w495942.

“Linkin Park – Bleed It Out.” Genius, 17 Aug. 2007, genius.com/Linkin-park-bleed-it-out-lyrics.

“Linkin Park – One More Light.” Genius, 19 May 2017, genius.com/Linkin-park-one-more-light-lyrics.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.